Party Position

A neck-to-neck contest is expected between Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Naeem Shahzad Bhatti and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Nazakat Bhatti. Bilal Aslam Bhatti, an independent candidate, also enjoys public support in the ward. Naeem Shahzad Bhatti has a slight edge over his rivals because of his party being in power in both province and the Centre. There are 12,317 registered voters in the constituency that includes Manawala, Chochowali, Ismailpura, Jhura Colony, Jhundo Wali Abadi, Kalar Colony, Gohawa, Tiba and Metodat. Biridari, too, will impact the vote outcome as a large number of voters are Meo, Bhatti and Jutt. Almost 40 per cent of the voters in the ward are Christians and the contestants claim to have support of the Christian community. - Posted on : 25-April-2015